Telling my parents

Posted on

So, this arvo Steve and I went around to my parent’s place, like we do most weekends. We stay over on Saturday and then go visit my Grandparents on Sunday.

I got a metallic gold calligraphy pen earlier this morning and I went upstairs and quickly wrote Mum & Dad’s name on their invite.

I had to wait till they were both in the room together before I could give them the invite and this took a little while because Mum was on the phone to her Mum in South Africa.

So it was around dinner time and Mum and Dad were both in the kitchen. I quickly went upstairs to fetch their invite and I said, Mum and Dad, Steve and I have an invite to give you.

Mum was like, what is this? So she opens it and she says, Is this real? Are you two playing jokes? Really? Is this true? Really?

Lol! Mum didn’t believe us, for like a full 10 minutes she thought we were playing a prank on her! She said, I know you two like to play the fool. Hahaha! We were like, okay then, we’re coming around on the 11th, there’s a caterer and a celebrant and a photographer coming, so you might want to zhuzh yourself up a little. Lol!

My dad on the other hand was like, “Congratulations to you both”. How cute!

After Mum realised it was true, she was like, What’s going to happen? What do I wear? Do I have to wear a long dress? Can I wear pants? Do I have to get a haircut? Do I need to prepare anything? Do I need to make arrangements? I need to tidy up. Dad’s suit needs to be taken up! Do you have a dress? Do you need crockery/cutlery/glasses? Do we need to make speeches? We’re not speech people. Is there going to be champagne? (No one in my family drinks! lol) What is the food going to be? Do they cook it here? When do they get here? Do they use my utensils? What does the cake look like? This isn’t enough notice! etc etc etc! It was like a barrage of questions! Poor Mum, her head must have been spinning!

So we told her, she just needs to turn up and that’s all she has to do!

Also, she said that her Mum, my grandma in Sth Africa, just asked her on the phone, when are Steve and Shelley getting married. And she said, you know, they don’t get married these days, they just go out with each other and live together. LOL! I suppose after almost 12 years of Steve and I going out, she probably didn’t think it would ever happen, so it tripped her out big time!

Mum also said, just wait til you see your Grandma’s face (my Dad’s mum), she won’t believe you, she won’t know what to do.

We’re giving Dad’s Mum (and my Aunty and cousins) their invites tomorrow at lunch. Can’t wait to see their reaction!

Leave a comment